//
you're reading...
cms analysis

Alternative for the more link

Each time I log out of my Yahoo mail (one of the many flavours of webmail I use) I get onto this page of silly news, with silly I mean it’s most of the times irrelevant chatter about celebrities, fashion or one or another brutal murder, preferably between family members.

But the funny thing is that I am often lured into reading one of these articles and I notice that one of the things that make me tempt is the link underneath the tiny introduction. Yahoo doesn’t use the ever-present ‘read more’ link, they go through the burden of writing a special link for each article. That goes like this;

Extordinary large egg found. Know what’s inside?
or
Every weekend goal in just 90 seconds. See all 17 goals.

That might make you think ’17 goals?! I watched soccer all weekend but I didn’t get to see 17 goals, I must have missed something, let’s find out!’

I admit, I couldn’t care less about the 17 goals personally, but many other times I find myself wondering ‘of course I want to know!’ and quickly click on the link!

And then I think, mmmm, if many of our CMS clients would want to do this, they would have to request a change to their systems, cause CMS systems and implementations take it for granted that the end user will want to have an AUTOMATIC link text to the rest of the article.

But what if he doesn’t!

About ines

My name is Ines Vanlangendonck, I used to be a content management consultant at Panoptic, but I have found new toys so you can follow me on my new companies' website http://www.foursevens.be where I write about cross-platform mobile development.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment